Famous last words…

I didn’t really mean it. I really, really didn’t want to be ill more often (see last post) but I was daft enough to say it… so, naturally, here I am, suffering from a second heavy cold, and without the strength to sort anything at all out this time. And in between, my doc has broken the news that actually I have severe osteoarthritis of the right hip & will need a “resurfacing” operation ASAP…

After our romantic trip to London was somewhat limited by the fact that I was hobbling and biting my lip most of the time, I went to my GP and asked her to sort it out, not for the first time. When I think back, I’ve been hobbling on & off for at least 17 years now; about 10 years ago she did send me to the physios & request X-rays, but they countermanded that request, saying that as I had a full range of movement, the pain was really located in my back so ab exercises would sort it all out… and in the intervening time, I have only ever mentioned it in passing, as a constant niggle rather than something that was beginning to become life-limiting. So I’m not blaming my doc in any way, shape or form. But knowing that something really is up does explain a lot.

I had to cancel what should have been my last “show” of the season, as I was in too much pain & too tired to complete my preparations for it, having done another trip to London to take the girls to an exhibition at the BM. And I can see that I am going to have to dispose of a lot of the stuff I’ve accumulated for my shop & stall as I really cannot “just sort it all out” when it’s spread all over the floor etc. Luckily someone else is setting up doing what I was hoping to do, so I can pass a lot of it on to her, and I will concentrate on the things I do best; the books, the vintage linens & lace, the sewing machines, parts & other tools and the things that I make myself and have commissions for. The rest must go… so my next challenge is to see that none of it goes to waste.

I have my appointment to see the consultant next month; I don’t know what the waiting lists are like but I can see that it’s going to be an interesting year!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

